Sherman, Campbell Lead Annual Awards Recipients

September 12, 2014

The National Turf Writers and Broadcasters will honor Kentucky Derby winning trainer Art Sherman, innovative owner Cot Campbell; trailblazing broadcaster Charlsie Canty and accomplished sportswriter Tom LaMarra at its 55th annual awards dinner on Oct. 29 in Arcadia, Calif. More

NTWAB Awards Nominations Announced

September 5, 2014

Here are the nominees for the annual National Turf Writers and Broadcasters awards. Winners will be announced at the annual gala on Wednesday, Oct. 29 at the Derby, near Santa Anita. More

In Tribute and Memoriam

August 28, 2014

With this post, we observe the passing of three notable men who helped cover Thoroughbred racing during the last 50 years or so. Each, in his own way, made a major contribution to the coverage and culture of the sport — Dale Austin, Paul Moran and Victor Zast. More

NTWAB Summer Newsletter

July 26, 2014

By Tom Pedulla, President,

I hope this finds you well and that you are headed to Del Mar or Saratoga or some fine venue in between. I heard from a number of you regarding issues at the Kentucky Derby, and we are following up. While I think most of you will agree that it was a much better working experience than it was in trouble-filled 2013 with the addition of ethernet cables, improved cell service and the virtual elimination of food lines, there is ample room for improvement. More

NTWAB Newsletter; Spring Meeting Summary

May 8, 2014

By Tom Pedulla, President

As many of you know, we met with Kevin Flanery, president of Churchill Downs, Darren Rogers and John Asher last autumn to review the difficult experience we endured in 2013, our first year covering the Kentucky Derby without benefit of a press box.

I can only speak for my experience last week, but I feel significant gains were made. While the Internet remained spotty, Ethernet cables were provided to solve that. I did not have an issue with one cell call after encountering numerous lost calls the year before. The long food lines were eliminated, and the courtesy of providing lunch and dinner on Oaks and Derby Day, not to mention lunch vouchers throughout the week, were greatly appreciated. It is a wonderful convenience. More

Officers, Directors Following April 30 Meeting

May 1, 2014


Tom Pedulla – Freelance

Mike Kane – Freelance

Loren Hebel-Osborne – Freelance



Greg Hall — Louisville Courier-Journal

Marty McGee – Daily Racing Form

Alicia Wincze-Hughes – Lexington Herald Leader

Vic Zast – Freelance

Jennie Rees – Louisville Courier-Journal

Jessie Oswald –

Notice of Annual Meeting/Letter from the President

April 26, 2014

By Tom Pedulla

We will hold our annual Derby meeting Wednesday, April 30, at 12:30 p.m. at Churchill Downs in the Parlay.

Among other business will be the election of president, vice president, secretary-treasurer and three board members.

I am seeking re-election as president, Mike Kane seeks election as vice president and Loren Hebel-Osborne would like to continue to serve as secretary-treasurer. Board members Teresa Genaro and Alicia Wincze-Hughes seek re-election. Claire Novak, who replaced Ron Mitchell, will not seek election. We thank her for her service and look forward to her valued input as a member.

Anyone wishing to run for any of these positions is encouraged to do so. Please notify Loren by 5 p.m. ET on Monday, April 28. Feel free to include something about yourself and your view of the position you wish to pursue. This will be distributed to members via e-mail.

Candidates also may come forward at the meeting. Proxy votes may be submitted through members who attend the meeting.

For those who will be in town by Wednesday to cover the Derby, please do everything you can to attend. We have significant issues to discuss but promise to cover the ground swiftly.


MEMBER DUES – I will provide a current list of members and their payment status under separate email. If you have not paid, please do so at your earliest convenience. I will happily take your check before or after the meeting on Wednesday too.

TPA/NTWAB DIRECTORIES – Quantities have been shipped to Churchill Downs and are available in the press box/Parlay. After Derby, all members will be mailed a copy to the address I have on record.

CALL-IN INFORMATION – I am still trying to get assistance from Churchill to determine if we can get a telephone line/speaker phone available for members wishing to call in and participate in the meeting. If I can get this accomplished, I will send out dial in information.

New Membership Deadline Reminder

March 26, 2014

The deadline for new membership applications is April 1. A letter of application is required, accompanied by two letters of recommendation from current members.

The date was advanced to ensure that the board and officers have ample time to review the qualifications of potential new members and make the best possible recommendation to the membership.

Applications should be sent to Tom Pedulla at Please copy Loren Hebel-Osborne at
For anyone who has not paid dues, please send a check for $50, payable to National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, to Loren Hebel-Osborne at NTWAB, P.O. Box 541, Prospect, Ky. 40059.

NTWAB will be going to print soon with the hard copy 2014 Directory. Please submit contact information changes by April 1.

February 2014 Newsletter

February 22, 2014

tompedullaFrom Tom Pedulla, President

Dear Members,

To those of you who are slogging through a particularly harsh winter, some warming thoughts: the Preakness credential application was e-mailed with the Derby application to be made available soon. Horses are on the Triple Crown trail in earnest and a good number of our members will be as well.

I was joined by Mike Kane, our vice president, as part of a Feb. 4 conference call with representatives of the NTRA and Daily Racing Form that was arranged by Jim Gluckson to review every element associated with the Eclipse Awards. While the awards program was widely viewed as a well-staged event, we spent a significant amount of time on the supplement that contains past performances of the most prominent horses in North America and what can be done to see that it better serves voters’ needs. More

Save the Date Notices

February 6, 2014

The NTWAB annual meeting will be held Kentucky Derby week as usual, and details are forthcoming, but save Wednesday, April 30 so you can attend. It’s thought now that the meeting will take place between Noon and 1:00 p.m ET in the Parlay at Churchill Downs, which doubles as the Media Center during Derby week.

The annual awards dinner will be on Wednesday, Oct. 29, and it looks like it’ll again take place at The Derby in Arcadia, California, site of the 2013 dinner. The second annual members meeting will be earlier the same day during lunch hour, and the likely location will be either the Santa Anita press box or the auxillary press box.

Pardon Our Dust

January 22, 2014

After a period of dormancy, we are in the process of updating A membership roster recently posted is being reviewed and will be updated again soon. The names of our officers and directors are current. Our Awards Archive has been brought up to speed, and we’ve added to that Archive the identities of all media Eclipse Award winners since the inception of the program. Look for more content soon, and a brand new feature we’re bringing into

Dick Downey, Editor



With 225 members strong, the NTWAB is the largest professional journalistic organization in horse racing.